Learn more about the NSW Government

The NSW Government has approximately 400,000 ongoing, temporary and casual employees to develop policy and deliver NSW services across eight clusters:

Premier and Cabinet

The Department of Premier and Cabinet (DPC) leads the NSW public sector to deliver on the NSW Government's commitments and priorities.


NSW Treasury drives the economic development strategy to guide the State’s growth for the benefit of the people who live, work and study in NSW.

Customer Service

The Customer Service Department was established on 1 July 2019 and is working to establish the customer at the centre of all programs and initiatives and give the people of NSW a great customer experience when they deal with NSW Government services.   

Planning, Industry and Environment

The Department of Planning, Industry and Environment brings together specialists in urban and regional planning, natural resources, industry, environment, heritage, Aboriginal and social housing and regional NSW.


Transport NSW leads the development of safe, integrated and efficient transport systems including planning, strategy, policy, procurement and other non-service delivery functions across all modes of transport – roads, rail, ferries, light rail and point to point.  


NSW Health is the biggest public health system in Australia. It operates more than 230 public hospitals, as well as community health and other public health services for the NSW community through a network of local health districts and speciality networks.


The Department of Education cluster is the largest provider of public education in Australia. Nearly 100, 000 employees work in schools and offices throughout NSW. Nearly 4,000 of them are in corporate roles developing student-centred policy, designing schools of the future and supporting teachers.

Stronger Communities

The Stronger Communities cluster was created on 1 July 2019 and is a collection of NSW government services targeted at achieving safe, just, inclusive and resilient communities. The cluster of government agencies are focused on prevention and early intervention into the social welfare system and the NSW law and order system. 

Regional NSW

The Regional NSW cluster was created on 2 April 2020 as a central agency to deal with regional issues and build resilient regional economies and communities, strengthening primary industries, manage land use, oversee the state’s mineral and mining resources and ensure that Government investment into regional NSW is fair and delivers positive outcomes for local communities and businesses.